Winners of Wales Final Festivals of One Act Plays

If a page on an individual festival's history is available, you can access it direct by selecting the X in its History column below.  The same applies for the Photos column.

*NB: Information on these festivals are not complete

A page listing past winners of the British Final Festivals is also available. 

The table below shows the winners of the Maynard Cup - the overall Best Production winner.  Other awards presented include:

  • Crawshay Cup – Best Original Script receiving its premiere in the regional rounds
  • Elf Oil Trophy – Best Individual Performance
  • Bernleigh Award – Best Presentation
  • Bob McTurk Bursary  Awarded to the Most Promising Actor aged 18-25 in the regional rounds
  • Robert Fowler Unsung Hero Award  Awarded for backstage work
  • Lon David Memorial Award - Awarded to Best Director
  • DAW Lifetime Achievement Award  Awarded in honour of contribution to amateur theatre within their area, link to recipients

2020 & 2021 Festival - Cancelled due to the COVID-19 Pandemic

Year Venue Company Play Playwright Adjudicator


2022 The Welfare, Ystradgynlais The Players' Theatre Singing In The Wilderness David Campton Jan Palmer Sayer B.Ed. MA GoDA   X
2019 Theatre Clwyd, Mold The Unknown Theatre Company Constellations Nick Payne David Price GoDA X X
2018 The Savoy Theatre, Tonyrefail The Players' Theatre The Bridge Gabe Torrens Jan Palmer Sayer B.Ed. MA GoDA X X
2017 The Hafren, Newtown The Unknown OUTCasts Future Shock Richard Stockwell Ian Sarginson GoDA X X
2016 Theatr Colwyn, Colwyn Bay The Unknown OUTCasts Contractions Mike Bartlett Jennifer Scott-Reid GoDA X X
2015 The Welfare, Ystradgynlais Cardiff Players The Obituary Phil Nash Jan Palmer Sayer GoDA X X
2014 Congress Theatre, Cwmbran Phoenix Theatre Company The Dumb Waiter Harold Pinter Marie O'Sullivan GoDA X  
2013 Theatr Hafren, Newtown Solva ADS A Little Box of Oblivion Stephen Bean Chris Jaeger GoDA X X
2012 Congress Theatre, Cwmbran Blackwood Little Theatre Biscuits Graham J. Evans Ben Humphrey GoDA X X
2011 Clwyd Theatr Cymru, Mold New 'Tabs' Players A Kind of Vesuvius Gillian Plowman Ian Sarginson GoDA X X
2010 Taliesin Arts Centre, Swansea The Unknown Theatre Company Cotton Girls Scott Tobin Russell Whiteley GoDA X X
2009 Torch Theatre, Milford Haven New 'Tabs' Players But Yesterday Jimmie Chinn Chris Jaeger GoDA X X
2008 Blackwood Miners Institute Blackwood Little Theatre Last Tango In Blackwood David Tristram Paul Fowler GoDA X X
2007 Theatr Hafren, Newtown The Players' Theatre, Gelligaer The Bridge Gabe Torrens Sally Noble LGSM (Hons), LLAM GoDA X  
2006 Clwyd Theatr Cymru, Mold Phoenix Theatre Company Mediocrity Anton Robert Krueger Chris Moore GoDA X  
2005 Theatr Colwyn, Colwyn Bay Tenby Players Interior Designs Jimmie Chinn William Burns GoDA X X
2004 Taliesin Arts Centre, Swansea New Tebernacle Players Asylum Alec Baron Colin Dolley GoDA X  
2003 Torch Theatre, Milford Haven Players Anonymous The Bespoke Overcoat Wolf Mankowitz Chris Jaeger GoDA X  
2002 Theatr Hafren, Newtown New Tabernacle Players The Train Carl Slotboom Russell Whiteley GoDA X X
2001 CANCELLED DUE TO FOOT AND MOUTH Car Boot Theatre Company The Extraordinary Revelations of Orca the Goldfish David Tristram n/a, as winner was chosen from highest marks in regional rounds X  
2000 Torch Theatre, Milford Haven The Players' Theatre, Gelligaer Return Journey Dylan Thomas Sally Noble LGSM (Hons), LLAM GoDA X X
1999 Theatr Colwyn, Colwyn Bay Phoenix Theatre Company Blah Blah Blah Brian Marshall Marie O’Sullivan GoDA X  
1998 St. Donats Art Centre, Llantwit Major Phoenix Theatre Company The Donahue Sisters Geraldine Aron Chris Jaeger GoDA X  
1997 Theatr Hafren, Newtown Phoenix Theatre Company Low Comedy Woman Jack Boswell Tom Martin GoDA    
1996 Aberystwyth Arts Centre Telstars Theatre Company Albert Richard Harris John Fox GoDA X X
1995 Torch Theatre, Milford Haven Telstars Theatre Company A New Interest In Life Harry Glass Irene Rostron GoDA X X
1994 Congress Theatre, Cwmbran Players Anonymous Count Albany Donald Carswell Scott Marshall GoDA X X
1993 Clwyd Theatr Cymru, Mold Castaway, Aberystwyth Three More Sleepless Nights Caryl Churchill Scott Marshall GoDA X  
1992 Taliesin Arts Centre, Swansea Castaway, Aberystwyth After Liverpool James Saunders Alan Nicol GoDA X  
1991 Taliesin Arts Centre, Swansea Castaway, Aberystwyth The Maids Jean Genet Ioan Williams X  
1990 Theatr Hafren, Newtown St Asaph Community Players Low Comedy Woman Jack Boswell Charles Bell    
1989 Theatr Hafren, Newtown Players Anonymous That Undiscovered Country Gordon Thomas John Hefin X X
1988 Grand Pavilion Studio Players, Flint High School I Rise In Flame Cried The Phoenix Tennessee Williams Doris Day   X
1987 Clwyd Theatr Cymru, Mold Cwmbran Theatre Club A Kind of Alaska Harold Pinter Peter Carr    
1986 Bute Theatre, WCMD The Players' Theatre, Gelligaer The Forced Marriage Molière Anthony Cornish GoDA X X
1985 Congress Theatre, Cwmbran Parc and Dare Theatre Company One O’clock from the House Frank Vickery William Burns GoDA X X
1984 Clwyd Theatr Cymru, Mold The Players' Theatre, Gelligaer Two Precious Maidens Ridiculed Molière Mike Tilbury GoDA X X


Parc & Dare Theatre, Treorchy Berwyn Amateur Theatre Hidden Meanings Michael Snelgrove John Fox GoDA X X
1982 Sherman Theatre, Cardiff The Players' Theatre, Gelligaer Sganarelle Moliere Bill Patenall X X
1981 Sherman Theatre, Cardiff Berwyn Amateur Theatre A Night Out  Frank Vickery  Anthony Cornish GoDA X X
1980 Sherman Theatre, Cardiff Ynysybwl Amateur Dramatic Society The Real Inspector Hound Tom Stoppard Raymond Edwards X X
1979 Sherman Theatre, Cardiff Ynysybwl Amateur Dramatic Society Visitor From Forest Hills Neil Simon Martin Colburn (replaced Muriel Crane) X X
1978 Sherman Theatre, Cardiff The Players' Theatre, Gelligaer See You Tomorrow Frank Vickery Brian Clark X  
1977 Sherman Theatre, Cardiff The Players' Theatre, Gelligaer After I’m Gone Frank Vickery J.W. Lambert X  
1976 Sherman Theatre, Cardiff B.P. (Refinery) Llandarcy Drama Group Sequence of Events George MacEwan Green Peter Palmer X  
1975 Sherman Theatre, Cardiff Tonyrefail Theatre Club Visitor from Forest Hills Neil Simon Anthony Cornish GoDA X X
1974 Sherman Theatre, Cardiff B.P. (Refinery) Llandarcy Drama Group Mulligan's Shebeen E.D. Zonik Malcolm Morrison    
1973 Dolman Theatre, Newport Caerphilly Theatre Club A New Leaf E. Eynon Evans Stanley Hilderbrandt    
1972 Dolman Theatre, Newport Glantawe Players Rise and Shine Elda Cadogan Raymond Evans    
1971 Newport Little Theatre, Gwent Barry Arts Centre The Passing of the Shadow Michael Davies Bernard Prentice X  
1970 Newport Little Theatre, Gwent Llyn Safaddan Players     John Warrington X  
1969   Pontllanfraith W.I. The Nine Fathers Leslie Bonnet      
1968   Llyn Safaddan Players Min Mawr T.C. Thomas      
1964   Llyn Safaddan Players They Simply Fade Away T.C. Thomas      
1955   Llyn Safaddan Players Davy Jones' Dinner T.C. Thomas      
1948   Little Theatre, Aberdare Birds of a Feather Thomas Doran      
1947   Newport Civil Defence Drama Society Jephthah's Daughter Elma Levinger      


DAW Lifetime Achievement Award 
(From 2012-2015 this was named DAW Lifetime Achievement Award, in honour of Angela Tidswell)
2016-2019  Not awarded
2015  Claire Jones, Gwent
2014  Teri McCarthy, Glamorgan
2013  Richard Brazier, Montgomeryshire (awarded posthumously)
2012  Gareth Gibbs, Gelligaer


We’re working on building our history and photo archives of winners (and others at finals and other events). If you can help with any photos or other items that you think might be of interest, please get in touch. We'd also like to hear your personal memories of these events: these will be added to the history pages.

Updated November 2022

Back to Top