Regional Area Rounds

UK Community Drama Festivals FederationUnited Kingdom Community Drama Festivals Federation

Each year the national amateur theatre organisations of the four United Kingdom countries promote a series of one-act play festivals. Local festivals lead selected productions to a national festival in each country, from which one production is selected to represent its country at the British Final Festival.  Area festivals are held in various parts of Wales from February to May and the six highest marked productions are selected to appear at the Wales Final Festival of One-Act Plays. Rules for the Wales Final Festival can be found here (PDF 222KB) 

The festivals provide an opportunity for amateur companies to appear in new and varying venues before widely differing audiences; to receive constructive criticism from a qualified adjudicator, and to compare the standard of their own work with that of the other companies taking part. For audiences, the public adjudication of performances offers a deeper understanding and appreciation of theatre. The Adjudicator for the festival will be David Price GoDA


The six highest marked plays go through to the Wales Final Festival

Regional Area Rounds 2017

GWENT FESTIVAL WINNER: Off Centre Theatre Secretarial Skills by Peter Quilter, Directed by Phil Davies & Anne MacFarlane

PEMBROKESHIRE FESTIVAL WINNER: SADS All in the Mind by Fran Barker, Directed by 

GLAMORGAN FESTIVAL WINNER: The Unknown OUTCasts Future Shock by Richard Stockwell, Directed by Fred Skilton/Lon David

CONWY FESTIVAL WINNER: Colwyn Abbey Players The Bald Prima Donna by Eugene Ionesco

SOUTH BRECONSHIRE FESTIVAL WINNER: Glantawe Theatre Company The Bus Stop at the End of the World by Robert Iles, Directed by Lowri Paynter

MONTGOMERYSHIRE 28-29 April, Berriew Community Centre, Welshpool SY21 8BA Curtain up Friday 7.30pm / Saturday 7.00pm. Tickets £5 one night  £8 two nights available on the door or contact Pam on 01938 555974

Friday, 28th April at 7.30pm

  • Guilsfield ADS A Little Box of Oblivion by Stephen Bean
  • Llanymynech ADS Nine by Jane Shepard
  • Llanymynech ADS A Magic Night by Dickon Faux Nightingale
Saturday, 29th April at 7.00pm
  • Berriew ADS You See It All On The Radio by Jilly McNeil
  • Llanymynech ADS Emporium by Bob Tucker
  • Guilsfield ADS Doubles by Michael Frayn

ANGLESEY No festival this year

CLWYD No festival this year



David Price GoDADavid has 40 years experience of amateur performance, mostly relating to his involvement with Builth Wells Young Farmers’ Club. He writes and directs their annual Drama, Entertainment and Pantomime entries, and has been successful in the Club representing Wales at the National Finals on 6 occasions, performing at such venues as Blackpool Opera House and the Princess Theatre, Torquay. Having won in 1996, runners up in 2005 and 2006, they went on to an unprecedented triumph for 3 consecutive years in 2011, 2012 & 2013.

His writing also includes a number of Pantomimes for the ‘Old Stagers’ company, who performed annually raising over £60,000 for TENOVUS Cancer Research.

As a member of Builth Wells Community Arts, he has acting in productions ranging from ‘Oh. What a Lovely War’ to ‘Cider with Rosie’. He is currently a Patron and Board member of Wyeside Arts Centre.

His experience of drama adjudication spans 20 years, and includes festivals for YFC, WI , ‘All England Theatre Festival’ and ‘Drama Association of Wales’. In 2002 he had the honour of adjudicating the National YFC Entertainment finals at Blackpool.

He is a farmer and County Councillor, having had the pleasure of being elected Chairman of Powys County Council in 2009/10. Currently David is High Sheriff in nomination for the county of Powys. He is married to Elaine, and has three daughters.

David became an Associate of the Guild of Drama Adjudicators in September 2013, and received full membership in 2016.

Regional Area Round Winners

Recent Regional Area Round details are available here (PDF 328KB)

Updated April 2017

Back to Top